The U.S. House Passes Bill to Reauthorize Expedited Business Travel Program for Pacific Rim Countries


Today, the U.S. House of Representatives passed S. 504, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Business Travel Cards Act of 2017, which is identical to bipartisan legislation introduced in the House this year by Reps. Dave Reichert (R-WA), chairman of the Ways and Means Trade Subcommittee, Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Dan Donovan (R-NY), and Rick Larsen (D-WA). The legislation permanently reauthorizes the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Business Travel Card (ABTC) program, which eases travel for those conducting business in the APEC region. APEC, a forum of 21 Pacific Rim countries including the U.S., created the ABTC program in 1997, and the U.S. started issuing cards to eligible Americans in 2014 after Congress passed the APEC Business Travel Cards Act in 2011.

Nearly 30,000 U.S. citizens currently hold cards through the ABTC program, including more than 1,000 in Washington State.

Read more at Travel Wire News

The full text of the legislation is available here